Board of Directors

The UND Alumni Association & Foundation’s Board of Directors is composed of true philanthropists who’ve given their time, talent, and treasure to the University of North Dakota. They are elected every three years and serve maximum three-year terms. 

The Board meets twice a year to provide strategic direction and governance to the 501(c)(3), nonprofit organization. Task forces within the board, based on professional expertise, provide ongoing advisement.

The 2018-19 Board of Directors for the UND Alumni Association & Foundation's dedication to UND is greatly appreciated by the alumni family and also the administration, faculty and students.

Board Chair

Board Vice Chair

Doug Podolak, ’72
Greenwood Associates, Inc.
Chaska, Minn.

Sara Garland, ’68, '72
Former Chief of Staff & Committee Staff Director United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 

Board Members


Cindy Blikre, ‘91
Chicago, Ill.

Phil Gisi, '82
Vice President/CEO
Edgewood Management Group LLC
Grand Forks

John Gray, M.D., ’87
Kidney Specialists of Minnesota
Robbinsdale, Minn.

Mike Hamerlik

Mike Hamerlik, '84, '88
Wisconsin Physicians Service Insurance Corporation
Fitchburg, Wisc. 


Marten Hoekstra, ’82
Former CEO
Emerging Global Advisors
New York, N.Y. 

Jonathan Holth

Community & Client Development Manager
JLG Architects
Grand Forks, N.D.


Linda Laskowski, ’72, ’73
Former Vice President
MediaOne Group
Berkeley, Calif. 

Rick Lee, '78

Retired Partner
Eide Bailly
Bismarck, N.D.

Dr. Michael LeBeau, '02
Physician, Internal Medicine/Nephrology
Sanford Health
Bismarck, N.D.


Doug Mark, ’86
Founder and Managing Partner
Northstar Capital, LLC.
West Fargo 

Rob Mitchell, ‘74
K & L Gates LLP


Carrie McIntyre Panetta, '88
Monterey County (Calif.) Superior Court Judge
Carmel Valley, Calif.

Fernanda Philbrick ‘94, ’96
Executive, Corporate Growth & Innovation
Carlsbad, CA

 Karen (Borlaug) Phillips, '92
President, Policy & Advocacy Associates
Alexandria, Va.

Jim Poolman web

Jim Poolman, '92
Owner, Jim Poolman Consulting, Inc.


Jodi (Thompson) Rolland, '92
Divisional Director of the Greater West Division
JP Morgan Chase Bank, NA
Littleton, Colo.


Cathy (Wilson) Rydell, ’88
Executive Director and CEO
American Academy of Neurology

Chad Wachter
Investcore, Inc.



Ex-Officio Members

Mark Kennedy
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks
Jed Shivers
Vice President for Finance and Operations/COO
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

Thomas DiLorenzo
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

Joshua Wynne, M.D.
Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, School of Medicine & Health Sciences
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

DeAnna Carlson Zink '86
UND Alumni Association & Foundation
Grand Forks
Nancy PetersonNancy Pederson '90
Vice President of Finance
UND Alumni Association & Foundation
Grand Forks

Alumni Association & Foundation Committee Leadership

Cathy Rydell – Audit Committee 
Rick Lee – Finance Committee 
Marten Hoekstra – Investment Committee 
Linda Laskowski – Alumni Relations and Development Committee 
Rob Mitchell – Governance Committee
Cindy Blikre – Recruitment Committee